Close Window

The Effects of Selective Logging on Tropical Forest-Atmosphere Exchange

Scott Miller, SUNY Albany, smiller@albany.edu (Presenting)
Michael Goulden, UC Irvine, mgoulden@uci.edu
Humberto Ribeiro da Rocha, USP, humberto@model.iag.usp.br
Steve Wofsy, Harvard, scw@io.as.harvard.edu
Lucy Hutyra, Harvard, lhutyra@fas.harvard.edu
Scott Saleska, U of Arizona, saleska@email.arizona.edu
Michela Figueira, CENA, michela@asrc.cestm.albany.edu
Kathryn McKain, Harvard, kmckain@fas.harvard.edu
Plinio Camargo, CENA, pcamargo@cena.usp.br

We are using long-term biometric and micrometerological measurements at the km 67 and km 83 LBA-ECO sites in Tapajos National Forest, Para, to study the effects of selective logging on carbon exchange. Measurements at both sites began before logging to establish the pre-logging baseline carbon balance. In 2001, the area including the km 83 study site was selectively logged. The km 67 site was not logged and provided the experiment control for evaluating the effects of logging. Measurements at the selectively logged site continued until March 2004 (~30 months after logging), and measurements at the control site continued until late 2006. The logging removed ~3.5 trees ha-1 containing 30 Mg ha-1 of biomass, with 9 Mg ha-1 extracted as bole wood, and an additional 6 Mg ha-1 of bole wood and 10 Mg ha-1 of canopy crown left on the forest floor to decompose. The logging removed canopy, increasing the area of forest gaps by a factor of 3 over nearby undisturbed forest. Compared to the control site, the selectively logged site gross primary production and respiration decreased following logging. Net ecosystem exchange also decreased after logging, and the logged site became a net carbon sink.

Science Theme:  CD (Carbon Dynamics)

Session:  3B: Carbon and Energy Fluxes

Presentation Type:  Oral (view presentation (4290 KB))

Abstract ID: 23

Close Window