Close Window

Monitoring the development of carbon uptake and turbulent fluxes changes over an Agricultural Field in Western Amazon.

Ricardo K. Sakai, State University of New York at Albany, sakai@asrc.cestm.albany.edu (Presenting)
David R. Fitzjarrald, State University of New York at Albany, fitz@asrc.cestm.albany.edu
Osvaldo L. Moraes, Universidade Federal de Santa Maria, osvaldo.moraes@pesquisador.cnpq.br
Otavio C. Acevedo, Universidade Federal de Santa Maria, acevedo@pesquisador.cnpq.br
Matt Czikowsky, State University of New York at Albany, matt@asrc.cestm.albany.edu
Rodrigo Silva, LBA office at Santarem, rodrigo@lbasantarem.com.br
Troy Beldini, LBA office at Santarem, beldini@lbasantarem.com.br

We present results from a micrometeorological point of view of the land-use change in Santarém, BR, located in the Western Amazon (3.0120S, 54.5370W). In recent years, there has been an increase of the area of rice and soybean plantation in the Santarém region. During the last 6 years this field has been transformed from a pasture to a rice and soybean plantation. We will show the changes in turbulent fluxes, radiative parameters, and other parameters due to changing landscape from a pasture to crop fields. For instance, greenness of the vegetation, and differences in land cover type are clearly detected from changes in the PAR-albedo. Seasonal changes in these parameters follow those of the daytime evaporation and carbon uptake. These changes in the albedo do not only indicate changes the net radiation regime, but they also mirror changes in energy partition and CO2 fluxes. Ongoing efforts try to connect these in situ radiative changes to remote sensing products, such as NDVI from MODIS and microwave band. Lowest values of the Bowen ratio (b) were observed during wet periods, principally during rice plantation. There is net uptake of carbon in this field and it is bigger than adjacent forest. Carbon exchange depends on the agricultural practices (figure 1. Therefore, the decision to have one or both crops or none, rice and soybean, and its fallow in one year will impact on the annual carbon uptake. We will present the estimated annual NEE for several scenarios.

Science Theme:  LC (Land Use and Land Cover Change)

Presentation Type:  Poster

Abstract ID: 60

Close Window