Close Window

Synthesis Studies of Secondary Forest Productivity in the Amazon: Field Data, Remote Sensing, Modeling Approaches

Christopher Potter, NASA Ames, cpotter@mail.arc.nasa.gov (Presenting)
Mercedes Bustamante, Universidade de Brasília, mercedes@unb.br
Laerte Ferreira, Universidade Federal de Goias, laerte@iesa.ufg.br
Alfredo Huete, Univ. Arizona, ahuete@Ag.arizona.edu
Steven Klooster, California State Univ., sklooster@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Marc Kramer, UC Santa Cruz, mkramer@mail.arc.nasa.gov
Raimondo Cosme, Embrapa, cosme@cpatu.embrapa.br

We are using measurement data and MODIS remote sensing observations at locations that represent conversion patterns of primary forests to regrowing secondary forests in Amazonia. A principal objective is to improve calibration of the NASA-CASA productivity and soil biogeochemistry modeling and subsequently evaluate and refine a series of regional model simulation runs for transformed forest ecosystems. We have implemented the aboveground biomass accumulation (ABA) rate model of Zarin et al. (2001) on the CASA 8-km regional grid as an initial representation of potential secondary forest regrowth for the Legal Amazon. Our next objective is to evaluate the NASA-CASA model predicted ABA rates over several forest clearing and regrowth cycles with simulated nitrogen (loss) limitations on secondary forest NPP patterns.

Science Theme:  CD (Carbon Dynamics)

Presentation Type:  Poster

Abstract ID: 5

Close Window